Promoting live orchestral performance in the community since 1922


FSO Quartet plays for Wind Tunnel Project Launch

FSO Quartet plays for Wind Tunnel Project Launch

09 June 2014

Last Saturday, the FSO String Quartet played for the Launch Dinner of the Wind Tunnel Project.

The dinner itself was in the return duct but, because of the unique acoustics, the sound of the quartet playing in front of the fan could be heard clearly. Earlier in the day Principal Cello, Robin Chave, had taken part in various live performances to showcase the acoustic qualities of the historic wind tunnels. On 12th July the strings of the FSO will be returning to perform a concert in the same iconic venue. Tickets are available from Concerts.

Our Sponsors

Paris Smith LLP logo DarPlus logo Vail Williams logo      BPS logo 

FSO Recordings by Farnborough Symphony Orchestra

  1. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 1)
  2. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 2)
  3. Khatchaturian - Adagio from Spartacus (excerpt)
  4. Brahms - Variations on a theme by Haydn (excerpt)
  5. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 1st movement (excerpt)
  6. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 2nd movement (excerpt)
  7. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 3rd movement (excerpt)
  8. Dvorak - Slavonic Dance
  9. Vaughan Williams - English Folk Song Suite
  10. Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake Waltz
  11. Unknown - String Quartet Piece