Promoting live orchestral performance in the community since 1922


Lost FSO Archive Discovered

Lost FSO Archive Discovered

19 December 2013

Archives dating from the formation of the orchestra in 1922, which were thought to have been lost, have just been discovered. The documents, which were languishing forgotten in a local storage room, came to light during a clear-out of the FSO's music library.

Amongst the documents are all the original programmes from the orchestra's pre-war concerts and the minute book containing hand written minutes of all the meetings held between 1922 and the outbreak of war in 1939 (including the meeting held to form the society on 6th March 1922). There are also numerous press cuttings, membership registers and even a hand written note of appreciation from the widow of Ralph Vaughan Williams on the occasion of a centenary celebration of the composer's birth.

Details of the FSO's concerts and repertoire have been updated on the website and further work will be done over the coming months to document the newly discovered archive material.

Our Sponsors

Paris Smith LLP logo DarPlus logo Vail Williams logo      BPS logo 

FSO Recordings by Farnborough Symphony Orchestra

  1. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 1)
  2. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 2)
  3. Khatchaturian - Adagio from Spartacus (excerpt)
  4. Brahms - Variations on a theme by Haydn (excerpt)
  5. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 1st movement (excerpt)
  6. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 2nd movement (excerpt)
  7. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 3rd movement (excerpt)
  8. Dvorak - Slavonic Dance
  9. Vaughan Williams - English Folk Song Suite
  10. Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake Waltz
  11. Unknown - String Quartet Piece