Promoting live orchestral performance in the community since 1922


New FSO Concert Series Opens on 16th November

New FSO Concert Series Opens on 16th November

30 October 2013

Farnborough Symphony Orchestra open their new concert series on 16th November 2013 at 7.45pm at Princes Hall, Aldershot.

Talented soprano, Ruth Kerr, joins the orchestra to perform excerpts from Verdi’s operas Aida and Otello, and the Prelude and Liebestod from Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde.  A former Cambridge University choral and instrumental scholar who recently played the title role in Aida for Kentish Opera, Ruth is guaranteed to thrill the audience with her performance.

By popular request the programme concludes with a Shostakovich symphony: Symphony No. 12.  This rarely performed symphony, which intriguingly disguises some of the composer’s private views, is one of his greatest works and is not to be missed.

Tickets are priced at £12 for adults; £6 for children or students in full-time education and are available from our Ticket Secretary (07582 345898) or online at

Our Sponsors

Paris Smith LLP logo DarPlus logo Vail Williams logo      BPS logo 

FSO Recordings by Farnborough Symphony Orchestra

  1. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 1)
  2. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 2)
  3. Khatchaturian - Adagio from Spartacus (excerpt)
  4. Brahms - Variations on a theme by Haydn (excerpt)
  5. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 1st movement (excerpt)
  6. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 2nd movement (excerpt)
  7. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 3rd movement (excerpt)
  8. Dvorak - Slavonic Dance
  9. Vaughan Williams - English Folk Song Suite
  10. Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake Waltz
  11. Unknown - String Quartet Piece