Promoting live orchestral performance in the community since 1922


FSO Welcomes in the New Year with Home-Grown Talent

FSO Welcomes in the New Year with Home-Grown Talent

05 December 2012

The FSO celebrates the New Year at Farnham Maltings on Saturday 12th January 2013 at 7.45pm with a concert featuring the home-grown talents of Tessa Welford and Beverley Hull, both of whom are prominent violinists in the orchestra.  Tessa, who is Leader of the FSO, and Beverley, who is a graduate of Trinity College of Music, will be performing Bach’s famous Double Violin Concerto.

The wind section will also show off their skills in Richard Strauss’ Suite for Winds, which was written in 1884 and includes parts for thirteen instruments. The ever-popular Mozart Symphony No 29 opens the second half of the programme and the concert concludes in a frenzy of Hungarian fervour with the Dances of Galanta by Kodaly.

Tickets for the concert are now available directly from the Concerts page of our website or from our Ticket secretary, Elspeth Todd. Please call Elspeth on 07775 789477 or email her on

Our Sponsors

Paris Smith LLP logo DarPlus logo Vail Williams logo      BPS logo 

FSO Recordings by Farnborough Symphony Orchestra

  1. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 1)
  2. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 2)
  3. Khatchaturian - Adagio from Spartacus (excerpt)
  4. Brahms - Variations on a theme by Haydn (excerpt)
  5. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 1st movement (excerpt)
  6. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 2nd movement (excerpt)
  7. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 3rd movement (excerpt)
  8. Dvorak - Slavonic Dance
  9. Vaughan Williams - English Folk Song Suite
  10. Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake Waltz
  11. Unknown - String Quartet Piece