Promoting live orchestral performance in the community since 1922


Elgar, Brahms

16 November 2019

Conductor: William Carslake
Soloist: John Myerscough (Cello)

D.Matthews: Sinfonia
Elgar: Cello Concerto 
Brahms: Symphony No. 1

The FSO’s new season begins with a concert celebrating the 100th anniversary of Elgar's Cello Concerto, written after the composer heard of the death of his one-time fiancée's son in the Great War. To play this contemplative and elegiac work, we are delighted to welcome back John Myerscough who stepped in at short notice to join the Fidelio Trio's Beethoven Triple Concerto with us last season. The concert opens with David Matthews’ Sinfonia, a work commissioned by the English Chamber Orchestra in 1995-6 to celebrate their 35th anniversary and which reflects one of Artistic Director, Bill Carslake's key strategic themes: new music. The concert will close with Brahms' Symphony No. 1, a work over which the composer, conscious of the shadow of Beethoven, agonised for some 14 years. We look forward to performing what promises to be a memorable opening to our 2019/20 season.

Our Sponsors

Paris Smith LLP logo DarPlus logo Vail Williams logo      BPS logo 

FSO Recordings by Farnborough Symphony Orchestra

  1. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 1)
  2. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 2)
  3. Khatchaturian - Adagio from Spartacus (excerpt)
  4. Brahms - Variations on a theme by Haydn (excerpt)
  5. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 1st movement (excerpt)
  6. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 2nd movement (excerpt)
  7. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 3rd movement (excerpt)
  8. Dvorak - Slavonic Dance
  9. Vaughan Williams - English Folk Song Suite
  10. Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake Waltz
  11. Unknown - String Quartet Piece