Promoting live orchestral performance in the community since 1922


 Season opener features Surrey composer

Season opener features Surrey composer

25 October 2017

Local composer Elizabeth Winters features in the FSO's first concert of the 2017-2018 season. The award-winning Camberley-based composer also happens to be the FSO's lead viola player and will be both playing and speaking at our concert on November 18th at Princes Hall, Aldershot.

Winters has established herself in the UK as one of the leading composers of the younger generation. Her music is regularly performed throughout the UK, by performers as diverse as the London Symphony Orchestra, BBC Philharmonic, BBC Singers, Ensemble 10/10, Rarescale, The Orlando Consort, Aurora Nova and the Choir of Canterbury Cathedral. The Serious Side of Madness (which the FSO will perform in the November concert) led to Elizabeth’s winning a British Composer Award in 2009. Tickets for the concert are available online.

Our Sponsors

Paris Smith LLP logo DarPlus logo Vail Williams logo      BPS logo 

FSO Recordings by Farnborough Symphony Orchestra

  1. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 1)
  2. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 2)
  3. Khatchaturian - Adagio from Spartacus (excerpt)
  4. Brahms - Variations on a theme by Haydn (excerpt)
  5. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 1st movement (excerpt)
  6. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 2nd movement (excerpt)
  7. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 3rd movement (excerpt)
  8. Dvorak - Slavonic Dance
  9. Vaughan Williams - English Folk Song Suite
  10. Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake Waltz
  11. Unknown - String Quartet Piece