Promoting live orchestral performance in the community since 1922

Scott Wilson - Guest Conductor

Scott WilsonLondon-based Australian conductor Scott Wilson held the positions of Fellow in Conducting and Artist in Residence at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. The foundations of his musicianship were formed through his study of the pedagogical traditions of Ilya Musin and Nadia Boulanger under the mentorship of his principal teachers Sian Edwards and Norman Beedie. He studied with Maestro Kurt Masur in Sweden, Gianluigi Gelmetti in Italy, and Ed Spanjaard in Hungary. In particular, he is passionate about promoting the works of Australian composers – especially Peter Sculthorpe and Carl Vine – and he has performed numerous works by the British composer John Woolrich.

Scott Wilson is Conducting Teacher at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama Junior Department. Formerly he was Director of Instrumental and Vocal Studies at one of the United Kingdom’s leading secondary schools for music, Dame Alice Owen’s School. He has taught at the Royal College of Music, the Guildhall School of Music, Trinity College of Music Junior Department, and the Aldeburgh Young Musicians Programme. He has led workshops for the Southbank Centre, Barbican Centre, and Glyndebourne Festival Opera and has given Masterclasses at numerous U.K. universities.

Also a percussionist, Scott Wilson specialises in contemporary solo and chamber repertoire. He founded the ensemble Sankorfa, with whom he released a CD - ‘in between instruments’ -  which featured performances of his compositions. He has worked with the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, Philharmonia Orchestra, Royal Shakespeare Company, and at the Royal National Theatre, has recorded chamber music for BBC Radio 3, and has performed at contemporary music festivals throughout Europe.

The FSO is very much looking forward to working on our French programme with Scott, a grand opening to our 2018-2019 season.  You can read more about Scott on his website


Our Sponsors

Paris Smith LLP logo DarPlus logo Vail Williams logo    

FSO Recordings by Farnborough Symphony Orchestra

  1. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 1)
  2. Strauss - Die Fledermaus Overture (excerpt 2)
  3. Khatchaturian - Adagio from Spartacus (excerpt)
  4. Brahms - Variations on a theme by Haydn (excerpt)
  5. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 1st movement (excerpt)
  6. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 2nd movement (excerpt)
  7. Dvorak - Violin Concerto 3rd movement (excerpt)
  8. Dvorak - Slavonic Dance
  9. Vaughan Williams - English Folk Song Suite
  10. Tchaikovsky - Swan Lake Waltz
  11. Unknown - String Quartet Piece